MINUTES

OF THE

AUGUST 6, 2019 SPECIAL BUSINESS MEETING



OF THE

OKLAHOMA WORKERS' COMPENSATION COMMISSION

STATEMENT OF OKLAHOMA OPEN MEETING ACT COMPLIANCE

Notice of this Special Meeting was filed with the Secretary of State's office on Thursday, July 25, 2019 at 3:54 p.m., in compliance with the Open Meeting Act.

The agenda was posted at least 24 hours in advance of the meeting, in compliance with the Open Meeting Act. It was posted on the Commission website and at 1915 N. Stiles Ave., Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, the Commission's principal office.

MINUTES OF THE AUGUST 6, 2019 SPECIAL BUSINESS MEETING OF THE OKLAHOMA WORKERS' COMPENSATION COMMISSION

The members of the Oklahoma Workers' Compensation Commission met at 1915 N. Stiles Ave., 2nd floor, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, on August 6, 2019.

Members present: Chairman Mark Liotta, Commissioner Jordan Russell, and Commissioner Megan Tilly.

Others Present: Executive Director Hopper Smith, WCC; Sarah McMurray, WCC and Dana Esparza,

Chairman Liotta expressed appreciation for those in attendance. After the roll was taken, he announced the presence of a quorum. The meeting was called to order at approximately 1:30 p.m.

1. Approval of Minutes

The drafted minutes of the July 18, 2019, public meeting of the Commission were considered for approval.

Motion: Commissioner Tilly moved to approve the minutes of the July 18, 2019, public meeting.

Second: Commissioner Russell

Those voting aye: Chairman Liotta, Commissioner Russell, and Commissioner Tilly

The motion carried.

2. <u>Discussion and Consideration Regarding Potential Revisions to the</u> Commission Responsibility Memo

On June 26, 2017, the Commission's Executive Director circulated a memo detailing the responsibilities of the Chairman and of the Commission as a whole. The Commission discussed and considered revising the memo to reflect changes to the agency that have been made within the intervening time frame.

Sarah McMurray was recognized, reported, gave her recommendation, and responded to questions of the Commissioners.

Motion: Commissioner Tilly moved to approve the Responsibility Memo with the modification removing the language of Vice Chair.

Second: Commissioner Russell

Those voting aye: Chairman Liotta, Commissioner Russell, and Commissioner Tilly

The motion carried.

3. <u>Discussion and Consideration Regarding Memorandum of Understanding</u> with the Court of Existing Claims

The Commission discussed a pending action under 25 O.S. § 307(B)(4) to draft a Memorandum of Understanding with the Court of Existing Claims to effectuate the provisions of House Bill 2367.

Motion: Commissioner Tilly moved continue this agenda item.

Second: Commissioner Russell.

Those voting aye: Chairman Liotta, Commissioner Russell, and Commissioner Tilly

The motion carried.

4. Possible Executive Session Pursuant to Title 25 O.S., § 307(B)(1) and (B)(4)

A. Motion and Vote to enter into Executive Session.

Motion: Commissioner Tilly moved to enter into Executive Session.

Second: Commissioner Russell.

Those voting aye: Chairman Liotta, Commissioner Russell, and Commissioner Tilly.

The motion carried.

1. The Commission discussed the hiring of Candidate A, B, C, D, E, or F and an appropriate salary for the position of Administrative Law Judge pursuant to Section 307(B)(1).

B. Motion and Vote to Reconvene in Open Session.

Motion: Commissioner Tilly moved to reconvene into Open Session.

Second: Commissioner Russell.

Those voting aye: Chairman Liotta, Commissioner Russell, and Commissioner Tilly.

The motion carried.

MOTIONS ARISING FROM EXECUTIVE SESSION

Motion: Commissioner Tilly moved to hire candidate B as discussed in Executive Session.

Second: Commissioner Russell.

Those voting aye: Chairman Liotta, Commissioner Russell, and Commissioner Tilly.

The motion carried

5. Announcements

The Commission's next regular business meeting is on Thursday, August 15, 2019. The Commission's next special appeals meeting is on Friday, August 23, 2019.

ADJOURNMENT......Chairman Mark Liotta

Motion: Commissioner Tilly moved to adjourn.

Second: Commissioner Russell.

Those voting aye: Chairman Liotta, Commissioner Russell, and Commissioner Tilly.

The motion carried. The meeting adjourned.